Superman #257 (1st Series) (1972) – signed by Nick Cardy

1972 Superman 257

Here is a copy of the first Superman comicbook I ever owned.  The original copy I have has seen better days but, as a child, I just could not stop reading it.  The boldness and perspective of the cover art… its colors… spoke volumes to me then… and it still does today.  As time passed I learned who the amazing artist was… Nick Cardy.

I had the honor of meeting Mr. Cardy in 2005 and asked him to sign this copy.  After telling him my story, and how it was this cover that started my Superman fandom, he revealed that this cover was among the top five favorite works of his life.

The masthead art of Superman flying was drawn by the amazing Neal Adams and the interior art was done by the equally amazing Curt Swan.

What did you think?

