100-Page Super Spectacular #DC-18 (1973)

1973100SuperSpectacularDC-18

This comic has seen better days.  Its spine is beaten… its cover is torn in many places… transparent tape holds parts of it together… my mother even wrote my name at the bottom of page one… but I wouldn’t trade this for the world.

This is my copy of 100-Page Super Spectacular number DC-18 that I’ve had since I was a child.  As it was with the issues in this line, this comic contains a compilation of previously published stories.  A few of the stories date back to the 1940s.

In this issue, a reader can learn about Superman’s efforts during World War II, read a story about the golden age Atom and the silver age Atom… the list goes on and on.   Tales about T.N.T. and Dan the Dyna-mite, Hourman, Captain Triumph, and one about Superman Red and Superman Blue.  This is where I first learned about the heroes of yesteryear and developed a great appreciation for them.  All of this encapsulated in a great cover by the amazing Nick Cardy celebrating the 35th anniversary of Superman.

As a child, I had read this comic over and over again never growing tired of the stories.  Guess what?  I still haven’t.

What did you think?

