Superman #257 (1st Series) (1972)

Continuing my 50 Years of Fandom celebration… here it is… the comic that started it all.

Superman #257 cover dated October 1972. This is the very copy that made me the fan I am today. This comic was given to me by my father when I was a mere four years old. As a child, I just could not stop reading it.  The boldness and perspective of the cover art by Nick Cardy… the flying Superman above the masthead by Neal Adams… its colors… spoke volumes to me then… and it still does today. I loved it so much that I would take it to school repeatedly for a few years. Because of this, my mother wrote my name on the pages inside. It’s cover and inner pages are torn and held together with transparent tape. It doesn’t matter. This comic means quite a lot to me and I will never part with it. It’s quite surreal knowing that, fifty years ago, my tiny little hands held this comic which started me on this amazing journey.

_______________________

Disclaimer: The ads that appear on this site do not necessarily reflect my opinions, interests, or ethics.

2 thoughts on “Superman #257 (1st Series) (1972)

What are your thoughts about the collection?